Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beginner advise

3 posters

Go down

Beginner advise Empty Beginner advise

Post  David J Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:16 pm

Hi

I am totally new to bonsai and recently bought 3 starter trees and im looking for a wee bit more info on them and how best to care for them.

They are: Silk Tree, Elephant Bush and Japanese Holly.

1/ Can anyone confirm what types of tree these are? When searching for info on how best to care for them, the info I find it quite generalised into categories such as Juniper etc and im not sure which category mind fall into.

2/ They are all very young. A few inches tall and the trunk is not yet developed into wood. They still look like plants rather than trees. They are growing but i am not sure if I am meant to prune etc when they are so young or if I have to wait until they are more developed.

Any info from you veterans would be great.

Kind regards..
David.
David J
David J

Back to top Go down

Beginner advise Empty Re: Beginner advise

Post  fiona Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:41 pm

Hello David and welcome to the forum - I hope you get all the answers and inspiration you need.

What would be really good would be if you could post some pics of your new purchases so we can make a more informed response. Additionally, an idea of where you live is good because care advice is very dependent on which temperature zone you are in. That way the people who are local to you can give you more appropriate help rather than just generalisations.

If you are not sure how to add pics to a post there is a very good sticky post by Jim Lewis. Go into the Testing board and at the top you will find this -just follow the steps Jim outlines. I managed it so it must be idiot proof!

Good luck - looking forward to seeing your pics.

Fiona
fiona
fiona

Back to top Go down

Post  David J Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:40 pm

Hi Fiona

Thanks for the welcome.