Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves

4 posters

Go down

Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves Empty Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves

Post  oboeologist Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:29 pm

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie to bonsai, having only worked with ficus and only for a year. I live in north central Texas, and have been growing the plants in full shade. I have kept a handful of plants alive for over a year, so I have had some luck. I have started using Neem Oil monthly about 4 months ago. Lately, my plants have had leaves like this.

The leaves will eventually just fall off, but the problem is clearly more than that as new leaves get infected. New growth does not have this problem. I don't want to lose the ramification I got from defoliated earlier this year (if possible). Help!

Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves Ad0yyp

Last edited by oboeologist on Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:34 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : pictures)

oboeologist

Back to top Go down

Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves Empty Re: Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves

Post  JimLewis Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:53 pm

As in another spotty leaf post here, your figs have one of the sucking insects -- mealy bug, aphid, etc. A soap spray should take care of it.

You figs should be out in full sun -- or at least in half sun. Even in Texas. Even this year. Just water a bit more frequently. Full shade may be encouraging the insects. They're finding something to chomp on without getting fried in the process.

I'm sure you know that they need protection in winter.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves Empty Re: Willof leaf ficus black dots and yellowing leaves

Post  oboeologist Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:28 pm

Thanks Jim!