Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Portulacaria Afra

+2
DreadyKGB
bonsaidude978
6 posters

Go down

Portulacaria Afra Empty Portulacaria Afra

Post  bonsaidude978 Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:05 am

I am extremely new to bonsai, just today I realized that I was doing it completely wrong. I was buying pre-bonsai and potting it into bonsai pots. WRONG!

Anyway, I joined this forum in hopes that I would learn and hopefully give back to this community.
Right now I have a few pre-bonsai in small nursery pots that they came in, and a few that I re-potted (as a neophyte) into expensive clay bonsai pots.

The first one that I will show you is this portulacaria afra. (Deathly)
I had it shipped to the northeast from Wigert's in Ft. Meyers and it has lost all its leave, I believe due to repot and premature root prune. The leaves that are left are mini and weak. The stems are wrinkled, but when I cut into the plant its fresh green all the way through.

Portulacaria Afra IMG_20110601_214809

Portulacaria Afra IMG_20110601_214656

Any hope for this thing?

bonsaidude978

Back to top Go down

Portulacaria Afra Empty Re: Portulacaria Afra

Post  DreadyKGB Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:19 am

Looks rough but can probably be saved. I would water very sparingly letting the pot almost completely dry. Also it should go outside as the weather warms with night 50f or above. Slowly adjust it into full sun exposure. Interestingly I have found that these plants like decent humidity but dryish roots. It can be watered more when it is leafed out and growing well.

Todd
DreadyKGB
DreadyKGB

Back to top Go down

Post  bonsaidude978 Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:30 am

I have been keeping it outside. Also keeping it out of the rain. My yard doesn't get full sun only partial throughout the day. hope this works out.

thanks todd

bonsaidude978

Back to top Go down

Post  DreadyKGB Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:45 am