Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine)

5 posters

Go down

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Empty Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine)

Post  Neil Jaeger Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:44 pm

Thank you so much to the people at Golden Arrow Bonsai that had this tree in a hidden spot that i just so happen to find Smile This was at the North American Bonsai Symposium in Rochester today. I know the trunk is pretty small and i should just let it grow for a few years. But if anyone has any suggestions please feel free to let me know. Im pretty new to bonsai and this is my first ponderosa pine. I only made it for the "shaping of a bonsai" by Ryan Neil. He put on a great show and he really knows ALOT.

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee10

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee11

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee12

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee13

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee14

Neil Jaeger
Neil Jaeger

Back to top Go down

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Empty Re: Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine)

Post  Guest Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:07 pm

Hi Neil,

It really depends what size of tree you are looking for. If you want a large tree then either pot it in the ground, or a really large training pot. However, if you are content with the size of trunk, then maybe you want to take advantage of the really nice trunk movement by reducing the tree, and choosing a much lower apex. This will also give you a more convincing looking tree. My virtual below is messed up, but you get the idea.

NOTE: Reduce the trunkline very gradually (over the course of several years). Doing a flush cut right away will weaken the tree, and probably kill it.

Best Deal Ever!!! (ponderosa pine) Yankee12

Thanks,
AH

Back to top Go down

Post  NeilDellinger Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:32 am

Neil,