Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

collecting hawthorns

4 posters

Go down

collecting hawthorns Empty collecting hawthorns

Post  harry dovey Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:25 pm

Hi. This weekend I am hoping to collect a big hawthorn. I have been collecting hawthorns for a few years now but I have never collected something this big and I will need to cut the roots back hard. Does anyone have any experiences with big hawthorn collecting?
harry dovey
harry dovey

Back to top Go down

collecting hawthorns Empty Re: collecting hawthorns

Post  fiona Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:40 pm

Mr Tony Tickle is probably your man for this task. If you take some time to look back through the topics, you will come across a couple he has put on concerning this subject.

Do you have any pics of the monster hawthorn as it is just now? If not, remember to take some as you lift it and keep us posted.

Good luck!
fiona
fiona

Back to top Go down

Post  harry dovey Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:47 pm

ok thank you fiona
harry dovey
harry dovey

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:02 pm

Harry. Try to collect as much root as possible. Do not cut back the roots to fit the container. Build a larger box for it or put it in the ground until you have. How big is it anyway?

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:39 am

Hi Harry,

Because I have my new Large greenhouse and large heating bed I am collecting the largest Hawthorn I have ever collected this weekend, Matt and Harleyrider have kindly offered to help carry off the hill. I am filming (in HD of course) the whole operation. This tree as been prepared starting over 8 years ago... this is a LONG TERM project... but a truly amazing tree. Wish me luck... and keep watching this forum for when I post.

BTW, when potted this tree will be a Four Man tree.

Back to top Go down

Post  harry dovey Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:07 pm