Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Getting a Bonsai to sprout in the spring

3 posters

Go down

Getting a Bonsai to sprout in the spring Empty Getting a Bonsai to sprout in the spring

Post  Frankenfurter Sat Feb 13, 2010 8:28 pm

I bought two trees to bonsai last summer and trained, potted, pruned and cared for them appropriately according to bonsai books.

One is a Korean maple and one is an American larch.

I have not winterized them by keeping them out in freezing temperatures though. (I live in Wisconsin). They have been kept indoors and watered periodically.

I'm wondering how I can ensure they will sprout leaves in the spring? Or is it already too late and they won't grow?

None of my books talk about this. Will trees lie dormant in the winter months even if they are in warm temperatures, and still sprout in the spring?

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to bonsai, but have been interested in it for many years.

Thanks! Very Happy

Frankenfurter

Back to top Go down

Getting a Bonsai to sprout in the spring Empty Re: Getting a Bonsai to sprout in the spring

Post  Kevin Yates Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:09 pm