Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Halp.. with what I believe is a Douglass Fir.

2 posters

Go down

Halp.. with what I believe is a Douglass Fir. Empty Halp.. with what I believe is a Douglass Fir.

Post  TimBov27 Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:53 pm

Let me start by advising readers I'm a noob. Been interested in bonsai and doing research, watching tutorials, and so on for over 10 years, but have only messed around with physical trees for about 4 years. I also have never before used a forum, so please bear with me.
So I collected this Douglass Fir about a year ago. I chose the specimen as it had experienced adversity from falling trees, weather, and game traffic, giving it natural character in the trunk. Being a Doug, with natural characteristics upright, I still plan on styling based upon the natural upright form of the mature trees.
The plan was to keep it in the large pot/mostly organic soil for a few seasons to encourage trunk development and maybe even enhance the nebari. After potting, I minimally removed undesirable branching, and did a basic wiring of the tree. I plan on working on compacting the tree after further development, maybe as early as next spring.
Over the summer, I was delighted in the development of the nebari. Exceeded my expectation.
In that short period of time, thickening was rapid enough that unfortunately, some of the wiring dug into the cambium as imaged. I promptly remove the wiring I noticed was causing damage, and left the rest for spring. My first question, is will this damage heal? Or is this now a permanent characteristic? Secondly, I've discovered my ideas for future styling are tremendously more unclear than per say if this was a Juniper. Fir trees are no easy task!
I still think I have something here with this one.