Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Defoliated Jaboticaba leaves only growing back on one side?

4 posters

Go down

Defoliated Jaboticaba leaves only growing back on one side? Empty Defoliated Jaboticaba leaves only growing back on one side?

Post  krapart Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:37 pm

This is my first question on the forum here, so please be kind if I fail to provide some vital info Smile
I'm also fairly new to Bonsai so any sort of advice would be appreciated.

I have a jaboticaba tree which I got through a workshop about a year ago.
I kept it in its nursery pot over the winter and then re-potted into a bonsai pot this spring.

I did some fairly heavy root trimming, and also de-foliated the entire tree... which I've now learned might have been bad to do all at once.

Now I'm running into a strange problem where my leaves have grown back on only one side of the tree, on a lower section.
There are leaf buds all over the tree, but most of them are pretty stagnant. They're not drying up on the trunk, but also not growing.
The few leaves that are there have been browning somewhat, so I'm starting to think it needs some more shade.

When I asked around, someone suggested that my roots might be unbalanced. And that would make sense.
But my real question is... is this going to be a fatal mistake?
What is my best course of action for not losing the tree altogether, assuming it hasn't already gone too far.

I'm sure a photo would be helpful, so I will post that asap.
But I figured it'd be good to get this question up sooner than later.

Thanks in advance!!

krapart

Back to top Go down

Defoliated Jaboticaba leaves only growing back on one side? Empty Re: Defoliated Jaboticaba leaves only growing back on one side?

Post  coh Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:46 pm