Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My new tree!

5 posters

Go down

My new tree! Empty My new tree!

Post  Mujician Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:45 pm

Hi all, Im very new to the bonsai world and I want to get it right. I have just bought a well grown but small 'chinese box' tree. It clearly has some new growth. My question is this, what do I do with it? Do I cut back the new growth to make it bushier, or do I leave it? Hopefully this will be my first succesful tree and Im after all the info I can get! (I will be attending a beginners course at greenwood studio soon hopefully) Many thanks, Ben

Mujician

Back to top Go down

My new tree! Empty Re: My new tree!

Post  JimLewis Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:38 pm

It's tough to give you a how-to-do-bonsai course in a brief response, Some of us have been trying to learn for 40 years and still often think we haven't gotten there. I'd suggest you hie yourself down to your nearest public library and see what they have to loan out, then do some reading. This is the wrong time of year to do much to your new tree other than enjoy it, anyway, so spend the winter months reading books.

There may be a bonsai club in your area -- there seem to be a LOT of UK bonsaiers. If you find one, join and meet folk who have been doing bonsai for a while. They're your best teachers.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

My new tree! Empty My New Tree

Post  bonsaisr Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:30 pm

First of all, you need to know exactly which species of tree you have. There are at least two with the common name "Chinese box." I suggest you post a picture or two here, including a close-up of the leaves. When we know just what you have, we can better advise you.
Iris
bonsaisr
bonsaisr

Back to top Go down

Post  Mujician Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:27 am