Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’

4 posters

Go down

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’ Empty Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’

Post  DreadyKGB Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:25 pm

Hey all,
Here's a smokebush that had been attacked by borers in my landscape so I killed them off and in spring 2013 dug it out for bonsai purposes. It grew well the last two seasons, even being out completely unprotected last winter through -45F weather. With the large grow pot and height I really didn't have anywhere to give it adequate protection so I left it out. It is quite large (almost 5 ft) and has gotten a bit lanky. I have found that it backbuds well when pruned. I am still learning about the ins and outs of its growth habits. I am thinking some style of literati. Any suggestions on style, pot, horticulture, or anything else would be great.

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’ Img_0811

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’ Img_0812

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’ Img_0813

Todd
DreadyKGB
DreadyKGB

Back to top Go down

Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’ Empty Re: Smokebush Cotinus coggygria ‘Royal Purple’

Post  Leo Schordje Tue Sep 16, 2014 3:25 pm

A lot of character from the roots to the first branch. Cool material. I know nothing about the horticulture of smokebush, but I have seen photos and live in person a few over the years that were great. If it were mine in spring I'd chop it withing an inch or two above the first branch and see what it does. I would consider removing back buds that sprout in the 'interesting' section of the trunk. You don't want to hide all that cool movement and borer damage - it looks cool. Nice material, worth putting a few years of work into it to see how it develops.
Leo Schordje
Leo Schordje

Back to top Go down