Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

4 stones I AM a bit fond of

+2
David Brunner
JimLewis
6 posters

Go down

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Empty 4 stones I AM a bit fond of

Post  JimLewis Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:27 pm

I only have 4 stones that I ever display with trees or alone.  Probably some would not be called suiseki or viewing stones by most folks.

Anyway, here they are:

1.  This was given to me MANY years ago by Craig Cowing.  He also made the daiza, I believe.  

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Craig_10

2.  This one is a relic of when I was a student in marine geology at Duke University way back in the mid 1960s.  It was dredged up with a lot of other geologic material from The Tongue of the Ocean near the Bahamas from a depth of 4,000 feet (plus or minus) during one of my watches when I was on the R.V. Eastward.  I showed it here several years ago.

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Deep_s10

3.  My personal favorite.  It is a beach rock from Florida and is exactly 2 inches tall.  I see a mother and child.  You've probably seen this one before also.  

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Mother12

4.  And the odd one.  It is perfectly round.  I found it in a flat sheet of Devonian shale in the Monongahela National Forest in West Virginia.

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Round_10

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Round_11
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

4 stones I AM a bit fond of Empty Re: 4 stones I AM a bit fond of

Post  David Brunner Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:29 am

Hello Jim – thanks for showing these to us!