Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

6ft Japanese Larch suggestions

+9
lordy
LittleJoe
Nigel Parke
mumra
fiona
paul.spearman
JimLewis
arihato
marc74
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

6ft Japanese Larch suggestions Empty 6ft Japanese Larch suggestions

Post  marc74 Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:03 pm

Hi im new and more to come of me later  Smile

im new to professional type bonsai techniques.  have managed a few trimmed in garden rockery but now progressing and learning the correct techniques.
tools, books, workshops all booked and ready etc.

a few trees to buy in spring and have a couple already
building a bonsai bench in the spring

but for now I have last years larch asleep in my garden and im not sure what to do with it

at present it is more niwaki than bonsai and is around 6ft

i am tempted to cut right down and attempt to stylize much better into a bonsai.

alternatively just a trim from the top and prune the branches into nice layers and hopefully cloud like

what would you do with this tree?

thanks

6ft Japanese Larch suggestions 20140210

marc74

Back to top Go down

6ft Japanese Larch suggestions Empty Re: 6ft Japanese Larch suggestions

Post  arihato Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:41 pm

First determine how tall you want your tree to finished, deduct two thirds of that height and that will be the place to cut.
OR you could go for better taper, it is the thing that takes the most time and effort to achieve. For good taper you need all the lower twigs/branches you have, the lower the better, let them grow long for a couple of years.

I grow small trees, so I would go to the third - fourth branch from the bottom and cut there, making a slanting cut to help with visual taper. The first two or three branches will be sacrificial, while they grow You can start growing and shaping the canopy.