Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!

4 posters

Go down

First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  Empty First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!

Post  slash Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:50 am

Hello everyone, looking for a bit of input on where to go with this juniper. I've researched Bonsai over the past few days before finally deciding to give it a try. This is my first attempt and I just picked up this plant earlier today. I've cleared what I believe may be called the undergrowth to give it the appearance of having a trunk, but I'm unsure what to do with the upper portion of the tree. I realize it doesn't go from nursery shrub to bonsai overnight (I wouldn't want anything to do with it if that were the case, too easy!), but I'm really not sure what to do from here. I apologize that it's a very general question, I'm going to continue researching, but figured it would be nice to have some more direct input as well.

[Several Pictures to follow]

First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4265
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4266
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4267
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4268
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4269
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4270

Another question I have is related to the trunk of the plant. I don't know very much about the physiology of trees or plants in general so I'm unsure what the bumps are that are covering the trunk. Are these failed branches? Hopefully I didn't do irreparable damage to the plant by cutting them off... I am curious how some trunks look so good. Is it through age or do some just look better than others?

First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4272
First Post! First Tree! First Set of Questions!  IMG_4273