Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Marble slabs for Penjing

4 posters

Go down

Marble slabs for Penjing Empty Marble slabs for Penjing

Post  Brett Simon Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:15 am

Hi Guys

Wanted to know if anybody knew the reason Slabs are used for Penjing.
I understand they represent the water and are shallow to give perspective but is there a story behind why they were used.

I make them here in South Africa as i am a Granite installer and often have off-cuts that i make into slabs.
We are having a workshop this coming weekend and i have been asked to talk on the slabs as the theme for the weekend is ROCKS.

Any information would be much appreciated.

Brett
Brett Simon
Brett Simon

Back to top Go down

Marble slabs for Penjing Empty Re: Marble slabs for Penjing

Post  Guest Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:48 pm

Hi Brett.

Penjing is like a Chinese Ink Painting. Some even refered to penjing as a three dimensional Chinese painting. Thus, like a white canvass or paper, clear marble, light gray, granite or cipoline represents well the "emptiness" to contrast the "mass". and providing contrast in penjing specially in landscape is very important for a successful composition and a plain white marble tray is the best material for this purpose.

The water and land penjing has its beginning in the Song Dynasty. But please take note that there were no exact date or year were the used of marble/granite trays were first use and recorded.
Before the idea of the marbles and granite were used as a tray they  were used before as a regular penjing pots for tree penjings.

In modern times the use of marble trays were popularized by Zhao Qingquan of China.

Most of the Marble pots in China came from Yunnan, Jiangsu, Sichuan and Shanghai provinces.

regards,
jun

Back to top Go down

Post  Khaimraj Seepersad Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:58 pm

Much thanks,
L.L.B,

very informative.
Khaimraj
Khaimraj Seepersad