Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts?

3 posters

Go down

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts? Empty Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts?

Post  bonsaibrady Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:19 pm

Hello All!

I am new to Bonsai and very interested to learn. I recently attained some material from a nursery near my home including a nice trident maple, hinoki and a boxwood. Anyways my question is actually pertaining to this Buddhist pine i recently bought. I purchased this before i really started doing alot of study into some of the main rules or advice on good bonsai. For some reason something about this tree really gets my attention and i really want to do something with it. But now after reading so much and seeing so many bonsai i am bit concerned with it. 

First with how it has the two branches coming out low on the trunk and them being bar branches. Also this causing reverse taper and the trunk not being so big anyways.

Are these ok in some circumstances? Maybe because they are so low on the trunk?

I am thinking about either taking the left branch off all the way or wiring the left one down away and the right one a bit up, possibly creating the illusion they are coming from different locations.

I am just curious if you all think this has any potential and if so what modifications would you do to allow it to blossom.

The first picture is the tree how it is and the others are some of my ideas. Any help or thoughts would be appreciated.

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts? Origin12

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts? T2ec1610

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts? Origin13

bonsaibrady

Back to top Go down

Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts? Empty Re: Podocarpus macrophyllus - advice and/or thoughts?

Post  JimLewis Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:57 pm