Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Starting From A Cutting

5 posters

Go down

Starting From A Cutting Empty Starting From A Cutting

Post  Juan Dicks Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:10 pm

Hey guys.
I don't know if this question has been asked here before as I am new to this Bonsai Club site...
What I want to know is, will my cutting grow when I use a nr2 hormone powder. Does it really matter how strong the hormone powder is? I have a good cutting. Not too thick and not too small either. Please would someone answer me.

Thanks in advance

Juan Dicks

Back to top Go down

Starting From A Cutting Empty Re: Starting From A Cutting

Post  Sam Ogranaja Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:16 pm

I'll kick things off since this won't be a very helpful answer.

Depends on the cutting, depends on the time of year. From what I understand the strength definitely matters. Owen Reich and I were discussing this for a bit a couple of weeks ago and he HIGHLY recommended - Dr. Michael Dirr's book - The Reference Manual of Woody Plant Propagation.

What are you trying to grow?

Have a great week!!!
Sam

Last edited by Sam Ogranaja on Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:18 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Misspelled Owen's last name name - Blasphemy I tell you.)
Sam Ogranaja
Sam Ogranaja

Back to top Go down

Post  Juan Dicks Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:25 pm

Hey howzit man.
Thanks for the quick reply.
I'm tryna start my own bonsai tree from a tree where we live at.

Juan Dicks

Back to top Go down

Post  Oliver Muscio Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:22 pm

Juan Dicks wrote:I'm tryna start my own bonsai tree from a tree where we live at.

Before we can give any kind of useful answer, we need to know what kind of tree this cutting came from. Also, how old is the wood of the cutting (this year's growth, previous year, etc.)

Oliver

Oliver Muscio

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:31 pm