Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa.

+3
Billy M. Rhodes
my nellie
Cockroach
7 posters

Go down

Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa. Empty Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa.

Post  Cockroach Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:55 am

Hi all,

Im new to bonsai, been researching and getting some stock for the past 10 months. I have had my oldest bonsai for 3 years and finally decided at the beginning of the year to give bonsai a go.

I bought this root over rock Ficus microcarpa (assumption from research) that I had my eye on for a year in June. [img]Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa. Camera11[/img]

After I got, I defoliated about a week later to see what I had under it.Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa. Camera12
I then let it grow a brand new, full canopy and repotted it to see what it had below. The roots were mainly long with no feeder roots. I trimmed back and repotted in a bonsai soil that works very well for all my ficus here.

I would love to hear ideas from you guys out there with more experience. I am open to any ideas. I have thought of leaving it and only removing the inner branch growing perpendicular to the ground and trimming it to look like a full canopied mature tree. On the flip side, I have given thought to chopping it right down and starting a much flatter, wider spreading canopy. The last idea that I am quite keen on is, using the right branch that I already have wired downwards and doing a semi cascade off the rock.

Your thoughts?!!!Thanks in advance.
Another angle.
Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa. Camera13
Cockroach
Cockroach

Back to top Go down

Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa. Empty Re: Restyling Root Over Rock Ficus Microcarpa.

Post  my nellie Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:14 am

Beautiful root over rock! Your waiting for one year was worth while.