Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ficus - what to do with large flat cut

5 posters

Go down

ficus - what to do with large flat cut Empty ficus - what to do with large flat cut

Post  theBalance Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:28 pm

hi friends !

I’ve obtained 2 Ficus trees with a GREAT nebari …
Both of the trees have a very large ( cut diameter = 14 cm ) flat cut – that were done with a chain saw by the previous owner ( a regular nursery ).
Now if it was a hard wood tree, then there was no problem I would carve the cuts and make them part of the design.
But what do I do with a ficus ( that is rotting very easily ) in this situation Sad ?

help from ficus experts will be VERY welcome Shocked
Alon
theBalance
theBalance

Back to top Go down

ficus - what to do with large flat cut Empty Re: ficus - what to do with large flat cut

Post  Guest Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:56 pm

Hi The Ballance

If I am an expert in ficus?, I dont really know...But rotten wood is something else...
I would remove wood, and carve something nice soft and beliveable between the trunk and the branches, and make a beginning of a hollow trunk. Leave the wood to rot, when it is rotted enough to look real, can you give it wood "woodharder", this will stop the proses, or at least slow it dawn a LOT.

You can also carve something believeable as you say, and then give the wood invisible "woodharder"....But I cant remember, I ever saw a ficus with deadwood....so, I would prefer the hollow trunk.

Kind regards Yvonne....Walter Pall sell the " woodharder"

Back to top Go down

ficus - what to do with large flat cut Empty Re: ficus - what to do with large flat cut

Post  theBalance Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:11 pm

hi Yvonne ,

10x so much for your prompt reply...