Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Yamadori of garden plum tree

3 posters

Go down

Yamadori of garden plum tree Empty Yamadori of garden plum tree

Post  humcasma Wed May 30, 2012 9:07 am

Hi!

A friend of mine is doing some reforms in his house and garden. He has a plum tree that has to be removed. I told him that if he did not want it, I would take it. I have actually not seen the tree, so I do not know how worthy for a bonsai it will be. Anyway, I am willing to take it with me. The point is that I have no experience at all with collecting trees. Moreover, I believe it is not the right time to collect the tree. We have had a really late and cold spring here in Trondheim, Norway. Last two weeks the sun shined and temperatures reached 20 °C. If I am not wrong, the tree must be flowering now (it probably started one week ago, as other plum trees around my house). Now it is rainy again and temperature has gone down to 7-10 °C, although it seems it will go up again from next week.

As you see, I need as much advice as I can get. Do you think the tree would survive if I collected now? And If I chop the trunk? Should I try to retain some leaves, and how important that would be? Where should I place the tree after I eventually take it with me (i.e. shadow, sun,...)? What kind of care should I provide to th tree after collection? Would it be better to convince my friend to put the whole tree on another part of his garden and take it with me later? Thanks!

Cheers,
Humberto

humcasma

Back to top Go down

Yamadori of garden plum tree Empty Re: Yamadori of garden plum tree

Post  David D Wed May 30, 2012 3:50 pm

How big is the tree?
David D
David D

Back to top Go down

Post  Steven Thu May 31, 2012 2:11 am

Agreed the size will be a big factor in what you should or want to do at this point, that and the overall health of the tree as plums can be very unhealthy trees
Steven
Steven