Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles?

+5
jonkatzmail
momcat66
JimLewis
coh
Gentleman G.
9 posters

Go down

Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles? Empty Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles?

Post  Gentleman G. Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:08 am

Apparently they're a dwarf/shrub variety. I was at Lowe's today buying concrete for an artificial slab project an couldn't help but enter through the plant area Rolling Eyes I hadn't seen this variety before and they look pretty nice. Anybody have any experience with these?
Gentleman G.
Gentleman G.

Back to top Go down

Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles? Empty Re: Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles?

Post  coh Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:59 pm

I have no direct experience growing them, but I've seen the pre-bonsai plants that Bill Valavanis stocks (he has used them for classes and workshops, so hopefully someone else here is growing one). They have pretty nice trunks considering their size...they look like they could make good bonsai.

Chris
coh
coh

Back to top Go down

Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles? Empty Re: Anybody ever heard of or used "razzle dazzle" crape myrtles?

Post  Gentleman G. Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:18 pm

Yeah, the trunks are pretty nice on the ones that I saw too. Not pre-bonsai, but pretty nice still. And for $15 USD, I just might have to give one a go. And if Bill is growing them as pre-bonsai, they must be worth giving a shot. Thanks for the feedback, coh.
Gentleman G.
Gentleman G.

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:05 pm