Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Horse chestnut Bonsai

3 posters

Go down

Horse chestnut Bonsai Empty Horse chestnut Bonsai

Post  Alec Gordon Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:33 pm

To begin with, hello. I am new to this and need complete advice on everything.

Basically, there is a few horse chestnut sprout in my garden from my horse chestnut tree and I was hoping that I would be able to grow a bonsai from one of them. I understand that Horse Chestnuts are no the best are the leafs grow at the normal size, but it is the only thing available for free. Additionally I would like to grow the tree indoors and it would ultimately be easier (and I would probably remember to water it.) Can you give me any advice on doing so, and what stuff would I need? Thanks.

Alec Gordon

Back to top Go down

Horse chestnut Bonsai Empty Re: Horse chestnut Bonsai

Post  Guest Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:46 pm

Hi Alec.

Welcome to IBC, I am so glad that you have found us. Bonsai is a facinating hobby/pastime/artform. Take a look through some of the sections and see the kind of trees people are creating, the material they use and the expectation they have.

All the advice, support and guidance you will find in these pages.

Horse Chestnuts sprout easily and grow at a rapid pace... but they are not really suitable for bonsai because of the large leaf size... and NOT suitable as an indoor plant.

Regards

Tony

Back to top Go down

Post  Alec Gordon Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:49 pm

Are there any other british, easily grown trees you would recommend and where I could get my hands on them?

Alec Gordon

Back to top Go down

Post  Kev Bailey Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:49 pm

Hi Alec,