Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Gardenia Bonsai

2 posters

Go down

Gardenia Bonsai Empty Gardenia Bonsai

Post  scottm Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:34 am

This was a bush in my backyard that was heavily damage by a snow storm (in Texas, no less). The cuts were made right below the broken branches, and then I dug it out of the ground and put it in a pot. I'm not sure if there's any hope for it, but I thought I'd ask for some input.

Gardenia Bonsai Nf6c810
Gardenia Bonsai Eqllk10
Gardenia Bonsai Phvh110
Gardenia Bonsai Hlolh10
Gardenia Bonsai 4knpc10

I am very new to bonsai, I just started reading books last year and bought my first tree last October. I'd really like to get a flowering Gardenia in the future, so I bought this little plant from Home Depot.

The leaves aren't yellow like they look in the pictures (although there are a couple of yellow leaves).
Gardenia Bonsai La59e10
Gardenia Bonsai 3ypao10
Gardenia Bonsai Xwszc10

So, my questions follow.

For the larger tree:
1. Should I cut the first tree to further prepare it for bonsai, or just leave it alone for now?
2. Should I cut back all of the longer branches (which were once suckers) and defoliate?

And the smaller tree:
1. There are already some flower buds, should I go ahead and remove them or let them bloom?
2. What might be causing the yellowing? Too much water?
3. I'd like to do a slightly windswept style, but I think I need to wait until next year to wire it.

Thanks guys, you are all so knowledgeable.
scottm
scottm

Back to top Go down

Gardenia Bonsai Empty Re: Gardenia Bonsai

Post  Carolee Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:55 pm