Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Don't make a tree looked like a bonsai but make a bonsai looked like a tree - Revisit

5 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Don't make a tree looked like a bonsai but make a bonsai looked like a tree - Revisit Empty Don't make a tree looked like a bonsai but make a bonsai looked like a tree - Revisit

Post  Van Tue May 12, 2015 6:24 pm

The contradictory statement made by our late beloved John Naka befuddles even the experts in the bonsai community; even the one just captured the Best of All American Bonsai category in the latest US National Bonsai Exibits in Roschester, NY: "That is very confusing and I don't understand what he means by that".

I am a newbie to bonsai, how can i decipher that?  The art of bonsai is making something very young very ordinary plants looked like old trees?  Or the art of bonsai is to capture centuries or even millenium old trees put in the pot and called it a bonsai?  If so, how to judge them accordingly for the awards?

Would love to hear your feedbacks and opinions on this topic.  Thanks

van
Van
Van

Back to top Go down

Don't make a tree looked like a bonsai but make a bonsai looked like a tree - Revisit Empty Re: Don't make a tree looked like a bonsai but make a bonsai looked like a tree - Revisit

Post  M. Frary Tue May 12, 2015 8:19 pm

As for your question regarding Naka's statement,the answer is pretty straight forward. Make the bonsai look like a tree that might be found in nature. Look at some of Walter Pall's trees. He gets it. Don't make the tree look contrived or an abstract image of a tree.
It isn't kard to make a bonsai look like a tree. They grow that way naturally. We just help them along a little.
To develop a young tree into a bonsai takes forever. I cut big trees down to make little trees. Most if not all of the best you will see were made that way.

M. Frary

Back to top Go down