Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Zelkova serrata

+3
AlainK
Leo Schordje
Rick36
7 posters

Go down

Zelkova serrata Empty Zelkova serrata

Post  Rick36 Thu May 01, 2014 6:22 pm

Does anyone have experience of grafting Zelkova? I am particularly interested to know if it can be done using Ulmus stock and Zelkova scion? If these are considered too distant, what is the alternative?
Also - does anyone know which stock is used commercially for grafting Zelkova "Kiwi Sunset"? I assume it is done to reduce the height of the eventual tree, which would otherwise be too tall for use in gardens. I'm aware of the cutting and seed sowing techniques, so please don't just say "try this" instead.  Cheers. Rick.

Rick36

Back to top Go down

Zelkova serrata Empty Re: Zelkova serrata

Post  Leo Schordje Sat May 03, 2014 4:55 pm

I have no experience with grafting zelkova. Zelkova root easily as cuttings. They also form roots easily when air layered. So there usually is no need to do grafting.
Leo Schordje
Leo Schordje

Back to top Go down

Post  AlainK Sun May 04, 2014 4:55 am

Leo Schordje wrote:I have no experience with grafting zelkova. Zelkova root easily as cuttings. They also form roots easily when air layered. So there usually is no need to do grafting.

Leo's right.

It's the first time I've heard about this cultivar, but the plain pecies is very easy to propagate from hardwood cuttings taken in February so you should give it a try. I don't have any experience with softwood cuttings but why not give it a go?
AlainK
AlainK

Back to top Go down

Post  Rick36 Sun May 04, 2014 10:27 am