Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie needs help propagating a Japanese maple

5 posters

Go down

Newbie needs help propagating a Japanese maple Empty Newbie needs help propagating a Japanese maple

Post  kieron Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:17 am

First and foremost, I'd like to state I'm brand new to the art, living in Massachusetts, and I know I have much to learn.

Due to a series of circumstances beyond my control, I'm presented with a very narrow window of opportunity to propagate a Japanese maple dissectum with great personal significance. My research has lead me to believe I am approaching this entirely too late in the season to be successful, but the opportunity will be lost if I don't act shortly.

The included images are of the tree and a closeup of the leaves taken on 18 July.

Research has pointed me towards air layering, but I'm open to advise from those with more experience and learning to point me in the right direction. I'm basically looking for any advise in propagating and helping the new tree to survive. In the worst case, I have a month in which to pot the air layer or branch cutting, best case would be closer to 90 days.

Thanks in advance!

https://i.servimg.com/u/f39/18/43/21/82/maple11.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f39/18/43/21/82/leaves11.jpg
kieron
kieron

Back to top Go down

Newbie needs help propagating a Japanese maple Empty Re: Newbie needs help propagating a Japanese maple

Post  0soyoung Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:44 am

It is indeed too late for an air layer this season. Furthermore, it takes longer than 6 weeks to have a harvestable layer in much of the US - about 4 months in my location - and another 4 to 6 weeks for to harden the layer for its first winter. I've never had any success with JM cuttings, but it sounds like that may be your only option if you must have a piece of this specific tree.