Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree..

2 posters

Go down

First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree.. Empty First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree..

Post  Lexus Mon May 06, 2013 4:31 am

Hey there!

I have collected a tree based on its unique features. It has a dead top and new growth coming out of the bottom. I have left the dead wood on the top for the time being untill I decide what I want to do with it... Any idea of what kind of tree this is? I live in British Columbia Canada in a fairly dry climate. At the moment I have the tree sitting in a tub of water ( I collected it today). Should I put it in a large pot immediately? I am relatively new to bonsai's and this is my first wild tree. Any help would be awesome as I am unsure what the next step is.

I can take more specific pictures if requested, here it is for now..

https://imgur.com/poRKfEQ

Last edited by Lexus on Mon May 06, 2013 4:40 am; edited 1 time in total

Lexus

Back to top Go down

First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree.. Empty Re: First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree..

Post  Lexus Mon May 06, 2013 4:37 am

Here are a couple of its current situation. The main trunk is dead after the last branch that you can see in the pictures.

https://i.imgur.com/JP8d4Ym.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/kcXu0sr.jpg

Lexus

Back to top Go down

First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree.. Empty Re: First time collecting a wild tree. Have some questions about this tree..

Post  PeacefulAres Mon May 06, 2013 4:51 am

It looks like a crab apple to me, but that is a shot in the dark. You should cut that big dead piece back to a nub, if only to make the tree less unwieldy.

BTW, why is it in a tub of water?
PeacefulAres