Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones

+2
Harria
Taihu13
6 posters

Go down

New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Empty New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones

Post  Taihu13 Tue Nov 20, 2012 2:47 am

I am an artist and scholar interested in getting in touch with other viewing stone enthusiasts who are developing new strategies for displaying stones. I come to the practice of stone appreciation from the world of studio art. I have taught Asian art history for many years but it was only when I discovered the work of the Chinese artist Zhan Wang that I became aware of viewing stones. Zhan Wang’s highly polished stainless steel sculptures of garden stones pointed me towards Chinese gardens which led to scholars’ rocks and ultimately to suiseki. Being an artist, my relation to viewing stones may be somewhat different from that of most people involved in stone appreciation in the United States. I regard viewing stones as sculpture. I understand them as found-objects. I see them as materials with which to make sculptures and as inspiration for sculptures made from other materials. This perspective shapes my interest and informs my inquiry. The accompanying images are a representative selection of my experiments. They include stones displayed on unique bases, sculptures made from stones, ceramic pieces inspired by viewing stones and non-stone materials displayed like stones. If any of this interests you, please get in touch with me. I would enjoy seeing your work and beginning a dialogue.
New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Cerami10New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Displa10New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Displa11New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Stone_10New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Displa12New Strategies for Displaying Viewing Stones Stone_12

Taihu13

Back to top Go down