Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

new boulevard

2 posters

Go down

new boulevard Empty new boulevard

Post  bobby little Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:59 pm

new boulevard Photo021

new boulevard Photo022

new boulevard Photo023

new boulevard Photo024

new boulevard Photo025

Again, apologies for the poor quality photos. Also apologies for flooding the board, but I'm off with the swine flu, so taking advantage of the time and access to the pooter without the bairn fiddling about with it. I had nipped out (I'm not infectious anymore, but cos I work in a hospital I have strict guidelines about going back to work) to pick up a hawthorn from a wee nursery along the road in Lutterworth. Instead, for £23 I got this, a pyracantha and a wee larch for my group I have planned.

There's a shari up the back of the tree, which needs treating, and there's some wire scarring on the branch at the left from the rear view, so I thought I might make a jin there and continue the shari through that. One option I thought of was to take all the branches off and just keep the top foliage, but I think I should try some more ambitious stuff first because I can always fall back on that if it goes boobies up. A bit out of my depth ( couldn't accuse me of lacking ambition) but for a tenner I'd have been mental to knock it back.

Any suggestions would be most welcome. Smile
bobby little
bobby little

Back to top Go down

new boulevard Empty Re: new boulevard

Post  Kev Bailey Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:05 pm

Hope you are recovering OK from the Swine Flu?

Chamaecyparis pisifera Boulevard is a difficult variety for bonsaiiing. It can be done but requires absolute dedication to pinching regularly and preventing loss of inner growth through lack of light.

I think that yours is pretty much screaming literati. I can't see any other option at the moment.

Perhaps you should air layer off all the lower branches next spring.