Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra)

+8
Sakaki
Khaimraj Seepersad
Velodog2
Andrew Legg
Ed Spaans
Justin Hervey
Billy M. Rhodes
EpicusMaximus
12 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra) Empty My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra)

Post  EpicusMaximus Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:42 pm

I bought this little tree over the weekend.

I was wondering if anybody had particular advice going forward? I know this type of tree isn't a traditional bonsai, but I'm still a beginner and I read positive things about it.

I know it needs lots of light, but is it OK to keep it in direct sunlight? That's what I've been doing (outside during the day, and inside at night). I am gauging the watering needs by observing the leaves. Some started to show signs of needing water so I watered it. I know I have to let it dry out between watering. Should I next time wait until a majority of leaves show these signs, or just a few?

Thanks!

My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra) Img_0912

Last edited by EpicusMaximus on Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:45 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : specific title)

EpicusMaximus

Back to top Go down

My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra) Empty Re: My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra)

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:20 pm

Get ride of the spagnum moss. Are the rocks glued on? if so get them off, don't overwater, use a meat skewer in the soil to test for moisture. Most plants can take full sun, the danger comes when you give it too much sun too fast, whey do you bring it in at night? Actually some Jade have won awards as bonsai.
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra) Empty Re: My mini-jade bonsai (Portulacaria Afra)

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:29 pm

This Jade was recently voted out club logo tree.