Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ficus forest

+3
richard novis
JimLewis
Anne
7 posters

Go down

Ficus forest Empty Ficus forest

Post  Anne Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:14 pm

This is my first attempt at a forest. Comments and advice are welcome.

Ficus forest Ficus_11

Anne

Back to top Go down

Ficus forest Empty Re: Ficus forest

Post  JimLewis Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:51 pm

That's a nice start.

You might want to consider grouping them less evenly spaced across the pot/tray though. Maybe in two groups -- one of 3 trees and one of 4, all a bit closer to one side or another of the tray. Each of the groups should have one of the larger trees in it and one of the smallest trees.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  richard novis Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:09 pm

hi anne

I have posted a link to a group planting article i found very helpful http://www.bonsai4me.com/AdvTech/ATGroups.html has alot of very good advice
hope this helps with the devolopement of your first forest planting.

best wishes

richard

Last edited by richard novis on Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:02 am; edited 1 time in total

richard novis

Back to top Go down

Post  prestontolbert Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:22 pm

One thing that would help is to put a little more space in the front of the planting (sort of like the foreground in a painting).
prestontolbert
prestontolbert

Back to top Go down

Post  bonsaistud Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:46 am

G'day Anne...

Good advice, above.

I would like to add...more difference in trunk diameters...also in height.

Nice start Anne...

Pat
bonsaistud
bonsaistud

Back to top Go down

Post  Anne Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:11 pm

Thank you all for your valuable comments. The link to Bonsai4me holds very good advice.