Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hawaiian Schefflera

5 posters

Go down

Hawaiian Schefflera Empty Hawaiian Schefflera

Post  kaspr00 Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:13 am

I recently took a trip to a local bonsai nursery called Bonsai by Dori. Home of a very nice man named Maxwell Hayes, Local Bonsai Master Smile .

Long story short, I couldn't leave without this peculiar specimen. She struck me, as my favorite tree was an indoor ficus my mother received when I was born and it died when I graduated highschool!
I decided to take her home with me ( pictures coming soon)

So I had a few questions to see if anyone knows about the Scheff:

1)First, is there a difference between a dwarf scheff and a hawaiian scheff? ( all i can find is about dwarfs and brassaia)

2)Are Hawaiian Scheffs water preferences only top soil beginning to dry out before watering, or maybe a little more dry before watering?

3) The leaves are producing this white coating of what I can equate to what it would look like if there was a residue in my water that is drying on the leaves ( tested this, and it is indeed the leaves themselves producing it. I am now paying closer attention to moisture levels in the soil to see if it's the leaves shrinking and leaving behind a waxy powder. A few curling leaves are telling me that it might be that I am underwatering slightly. Anyone have any idea what I am talking about and can confirm?)

4) Max had made a spiral shape in the trunk ( pictures coming shortly) similar to a cork screw, I would simply like to know how he did it! I enjoy only one single full corkscrew, but I will propogate when I have learned how to take care of it and I would like to attempt to copy it! Smile

Thanks so much for your time!

-Clayton
kaspr00
kaspr00

Back to top Go down

Hawaiian Schefflera Empty Hawaiian Schefflera

Post  bonsaisr Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:48 am