Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

privet starter

4 posters

Go down

privet starter Empty privet starter

Post  moyogijohn Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:06 pm

Does any one have a privet they are working??? i found a small one and would like to know how they work...this is small about 1 inch trunk and the limbs won,t bend very much!! thank you take care john

moyogijohn

Back to top Go down

privet starter Empty Re: privet starter

Post  Zach Smith Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:51 pm

moyogijohn wrote:Does any one have a privet they are working??? i found a small one and would like to know how they work...this is small about 1 inch trunk and the limbs won,t bend very much!! thank you take care john
Privet is one of my specialties. I've been growing them for 20 years, and I can say without reservation that they are one of the best species you'll encounter. They grow quickly on both ends, meaning you can train them fast. You do have to root-prune annually, but this is a minor annoyance. The leaves are naturally small and reduce even further in container culture. They'll flower in a pot as well, though the fruit isn't much to write home about (think of a slender, hard black olive--privet is a member of the olive family).

I almost always remove all the branches on collected privets, as they're tough to train once set but easy when the new shoots are tender.

Watch out for scale and white flies. Otherwise, nothing much bothers privet.

Enjoy!

Zach

Zach Smith

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:05 pm

I have several mame-size Ligustrum sinensis, and have one larger one that is deteriorating rapidly because the wood rots so easily and quickly.

They're almost impossible to wire because the branches have a LONG memory.

That said, they might interesting bonsai for all the reasons Zach states.

The larger one in '06

privet starter Stump_10

In 2010

privet starter Privet10