Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Should I repot this new Chinese elm?

5 posters

Go down

Should I repot this new Chinese elm? Empty Should I repot this new Chinese elm?

Post  cdcurnick Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:03 am

The I want to start off by saying that I am new to the art of bonsai, and received my first tree (Chinese Elm) from Eastern Leaf about 2 weeks ago. I have a lot of other experience in other hobbies involving living things that I think will lend itself well to bonsai. So far it has been doing great, but the soil that it came is is the Eastern Leaf Organic Blend. From my reading that I have done, I learned at an inorganic soil would be best. The soil it has now appears to drain well, and dries out quickly, but I know that it will likely eventually break down and start holding water and potentially lead to root rot. Should I bother with changing the soil to an inorganic blend? Is there any premixed blend that anyone recommends?

I was thinking about getting this soil to use instead: https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/supplies/soil-blends/bonsai-premium/

Or possibly buying this kit and blending my own: https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/supplies/re-potting-seasonal/premium-bonsai-soil-3-pack/

Here’s some photos, I know that ideally the elm should be kept outdoors, and I am currently working on remedying that (I don’t have a yard, just a Juliette balcony that I might be able make something to use to hold the tree).

Should I repot this new Chinese elm? 9cf3bb10
Should I repot this new Chinese elm? 5feaed10

cdcurnick

Back to top Go down

Should I repot this new Chinese elm? Empty Re: Should I repot this new Chinese elm?

Post  Mrbonsaicreator Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:40 pm

Hello my name is adam and i think that you should stop, look and think technique.
This method is to stop one self to do the wrong move.
So stop what you were going to do and look at the tree now and think.