Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

NEWBIE here... Canadian oak seeds

3 posters

Go down

NEWBIE here... Canadian oak seeds Empty NEWBIE here... Canadian oak seeds

Post  Poutinemaster Sun Dec 27, 2020 8:17 pm

First of all, greetings & happy Holidays!

So here we go... I'm totally new to bonsai trees. It is on my bucket list since a long time and Santa give this year a nice bonsai bowl (about 8 inch of diameter) and a tool kit, so with COVID also, I have more free time to start learning about growing a bonsai tree and taking care of it for many years to come.

I am in the western part of the province of Quebec, in the autumn, I picked up a few oak seeds in the forest and froze them for the last 8 week (approximately). I've read that first step is to simulate a winter season for the seeds and about 6-8 weeks are enough for that. I've also read that we can make a bonsai tree from from a very large range of tree seeds.

- I would like to know please how good idea it is to create a bonsai tree from an oak tree seed (eastern canadian one)? I guess it is important to mention that I want to keep the tree inside our home and would like to make sure that the tree will have leaves all year long.

- Basically, for the first two years, I just let it grow by itself in a pot, without doing anything to it? Indoor I assume?

Or should I maybe get some exotic seeds?

Many thanks!

Poutinemaster

Back to top Go down

NEWBIE here... Canadian oak seeds Empty Re: NEWBIE here... Canadian oak seeds

Post  Oswiu Sun Dec 27, 2020 9:57 pm

I don't want to discourage you but...

Most/all trees that grow in Canada will need to stay outside all year. They need to experience winter because they have a cold requirement in order to come out of hibernation. If they don't experience winter they will die. There are some posts in this forum showing winter care.