Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada

+4
Dave Murphy
JimLewis
Chuck-815
ivillaCanada
8 posters

Go down

Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada Empty Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada

Post  ivillaCanada Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:15 am

I live in Southwestern Ontario, Canada and have around 10 years growing bonsai but no experience with azalea. Last year I bought a nice little satsuki azalea tree that requires repotting, but I don't know what is the safest time of the year to repot it. I heard that early spring, but I also heard after flowering in June. Please let me know which is the best time to repot it. Thanks.
ivillaCanada
ivillaCanada

Back to top Go down

Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada Empty Re: Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada

Post  Chuck-815 Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:20 am

I am no expert but what I have read is that it should be repotted after it flowers
Chuck-815
Chuck-815

Back to top Go down

Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada Empty Re: Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada

Post  JimLewis Sun Mar 23, 2014 11:53 am

Bonsai Tradition "requires" that azalea be potted after flowering. But if you don't care about flowers this early in its potted life, they PREFER to be repotted in early spring like any other plant, and likely will do better in the long run. Just to save energy, you probably could remove most of the flower buds when you repot.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  Dave Murphy Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:02 pm

Satsuki foliage buds start to swell in early spring, usually several months before the flower buds open. That is the ideal time to repot and perform root work.

Dave Murphy

Back to top Go down

Best time to repot satsuki azalea in Canada Empty Thanks. A photo and a few more questions

Post  ivillaCanada Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:26 pm