Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Shohin size

5 posters

Go down

Shohin size Empty Shohin size

Post  Peter E. Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:19 pm

I have a White Pine that i have been working on for a couple of years and was wondering ?
What classification does the tree sit in ?

Shohin size Wpine-10

It measures;
Pot height 4.25"
Width 12"

I know that for "shohin" the tree has to be under 10" but what restrictions are there on widths ?.

Peter E.

Back to top Go down

Shohin size Empty Re: Shohin size

Post  fiona Sun Dec 08, 2013 12:19 am

There are no hard and fast size restrictions. Essentially, if it looks and feels like a shohin then it's a shohin. I'd say that one does Very Happy 
fiona
fiona

Back to top Go down

Post  marcus watts Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:06 am

As above,

If you have to make the tree fit into a strict set of show or club rules the tree measurements are always for the tree from soil level to apex / furthest foliage if cascading etc, it looks from the picture the total width of tree and pot is 12", trunk base to foliage tip looks a bit less to me so visually it looks shohin and chances are in black and white it is too.

nice tree
marcus watts
marcus watts

Back to top Go down

Post  Todd Ellis Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:10 pm

Nice shohin pine!
Todd Ellis
Todd Ellis

Back to top Go down

Post  Peter E. Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:30 pm

The only problem with bonsai size is when you are growing to show trees.
I have been informed by one of my European bonsai mates that this tree would be classed as " Kifu". A new Large Shohin class.
It seems that they use a max of 21cm/8" for Shohin. The last i heard, we use 25cm/10".
Over the years i have had to change trees to try and fit a size for showing but now i am getting fed up with the "rules" constantly changing.
Although i do not show on a regular basis, i do grow to show, as i feel it raises your own standards.