Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Japanese Black Pine question

4 posters

Go down

Japanese Black Pine question Empty Japanese Black Pine question

Post  jhogan9600 Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:15 pm

Hi,
I am new to bonsai and was hoping someone could give me some advice here. I just purchased three Japanese Black Pine (Pinus thunbergiana) seedlings. They are about 24" tall and approximately the diameter of a pencil or a little bigger. Should I pot them temporarily in nursery pots or until next spring, or should I go ahead and put them in bonsai pots now? I have done some reading and have a basic set of bonsai tools to work with, and I've potted on small juniper that seems to be doing well. That's the extent of my bonsai experience. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
John

jhogan9600

Back to top Go down

Japanese Black Pine question Empty Re: Japanese Black Pine question

Post  DirkD Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:57 pm

Hi John,

JBP are great trees to develop into bonsai.
There's much written about training black pine seedlings into bonsai.
My advise would be, try to read as much as possible about growing JBP.

Try these:
http://www.evergreengardenworks.com/pines.htm
http://www.evergreengardenworks.com/pines2.htm
Or, maybe less discouraging:
http://home.comcast.net/~okamigardens/Articles/DevelopingPines.htm
DirkD
DirkD

Back to top Go down

Post  jhogan9600 Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:33 pm

Thanks, Dirk. This is very helpful. I can see already that I need to change their soil. Thanks again!

jhogan9600

Back to top Go down

Post  Auballagh Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:56 am

Hello 'JHogan',