Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please

+11
David D
orcaman42
Andrew Legg
AboveBeyond
drgonzo
bonsaisr
JimLewis
rps
Poink88
EpicusMaximus
isaac2233
15 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please Empty low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please

Post  isaac2233 Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:38 am

I am new to the art of bonsai and i am looking for a quality soil mixture that will not be at a high cost but will not be a risk to the health of my bonsai i will be grateful for any suggestions.

isaac2233

Back to top Go down

low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please Empty Re: low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please

Post  EpicusMaximus Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:43 am

I am also new but just made my first soil last week from advice received here and online.

You can get a product called turface MVP (calcined clay) and screen it to keep only pieces 1/8" and bigger. Then you can mix this with pine bark mulch and coarse sand. You can also add other stuff such as pete moss, but the % of each you use, and what you use, will depend on the type of tree in question.

EpicusMaximus

Back to top Go down

low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please Empty Re: low cost bonsai soil mixture suggestion please

Post  Poink88 Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:45 am

Welcome to IBC!!! cheers

Go to Turface website and check for the nearest distributor in your area. Turface MVP costs about $14.00/50lb bag. I add Hapi Gro landscapers mix which is fine pine bark (available at Lowe's) for less than $3.00/ 2 cu ft bag on it. My mix is about 2/3 turface , 1/3 Hapi-Gro.

There are lots of soil mix but this is what I use.

Good luck finding your ideal mix! This will depend on your tree, your location/weather, and watering regimen.
Poink88
Poink88

Back to top Go down

Post  isaac2233 Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:29 am