Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis)

5 posters

Go down

Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis) Empty Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis)

Post  JimLewis Mon May 17, 2010 7:07 pm

I've been nursing this little plant (18 inches) along for 10 years or so. It is buttonbush (Cephalanthus occidentalis), NOT buttonwood. It is a plant of the low fresh-water swampy areas of the eastern US, southeastern Canada, and a tiny tip of northeastern Mexico. It often grows with its roots totally submerged all year long.

It has yellow-white flowers (actually a cluster of tiny flowers) about the size and shape of fuzzy golf balls. Makes great honey!

The leaves are quite large (but do reduce in a pot -- a little). These leaves are still newish and havn't reched their full size. They do go smaller in the sunlight, but this is a deep understory tree and doesn't much care for sunlight.

The bark is a feature and is what I've kept this one around for -- that and the nice base.

Has any other USAian tried this species?

Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis) 5-10c11

Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis) 5-10_b10
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis) Empty Re: Has anyone else trid ButtonBUSH (Cephalanthus occidentalis)

Post  David Brunner Mon May 17, 2010 10:44 pm

Hello Jim, sorry but I need to correct your native range info, Cephalanthus occidentalis is also very common as a riparian shrub in the desert and semi-desert regions of California and Arizona – because of the disjunction the western plants are often referred to as subspecies californicus – and we usually call it Button Willow (but such are the vicissitudes of common names…)