Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HID spot lights

5 posters

Go down

HID spot lights Empty HID spot lights

Post  JWT Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:38 pm

I have been experimenting with 70W metal halide spot lights for a couple of months. I have now 7 of them. They are like the ones you see in shops, on the track. Some of the lamps  are with 12 degrees reflectors and some with 24 degrees. Point with these lamps: They produce light levels comparable to real full sun, but on a very small area.

12 degrees reflector lamp produces about 50 000 lux one meter away. Lighted area is about 30 cm across. At about 70cm away light level is 100 000 lux, same as sun. Lighted area is about 20cm across. 100 000 lux is achieved only at the center of that area. I have not tried them this close, 1 meter away seems to be good enough (for ficus).

So far I think, that this is perfect light for smaller trees. One lamp could be dedicated to one mame or shohin size tree, bigger than that would need more. There is very little light pointing to ones eyes, light really goes to the plants.

My biggest ficus is about 70 cm wide and perhaps 60 cm high. It has now 3 lamps with 24 degrees reflectors. These produce 50 000 lux 60 cm away, where top of the tree is. Plant is growing very well, even that low branch that I usually prune maybe once a year. One light is pointed directly to that branch. Seems to me there is no need for even illumination. Whole plant will grow, when parts of the tree receive high light levels. Of course plant will direct most growth to where the light is, but still.

This is my best setup so far. Humidity is good, setup is in my bathroom  Cool.

My second best setup is with 4 cool white tubes on a closed environment. Third best Very Happy has 2 T5 grow lights. Fluorescents are only good for shohin sized trees, IMHO. I have measured light levels with 2 and 4 tube setup, and 4 tubes is much better.