Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cork bark Chinese Elm in progress: Design thoughts?

+4
NeilDellinger
John Quinn
JimLewis
Tom
8 posters

Go down

Cork bark Chinese Elm in progress: Design thoughts? Empty Cork bark Chinese Elm in progress: Design thoughts?

Post  Tom Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:06 pm

I've got a Chinese Elm I've been working on for a few years. I bought it from Ken at Windybanks in about 2005. If I remember correctly, I believe he grew it from a cutting. This is what it looked like originally.

Cork bark Chinese Elm in progress: Design thoughts? 3492ezo

The top has been chopped and grown out several times. The trunk was hollowed over a couple of years (lime sulphur has just been re-done so it looks a bit bright). The trunk is starting to look the way I want with the lines filling out and the new bark corking nicely. I'm expecting the transition from the old trunk to the new growth to become smoother as the bark ages and swells in that area. I may eventually extend the hollow further up the tree, joining up with the smaller hollow in the new section. I'm now starting to focus more on the branches and ramification.

This is how the tree looks today - still very much a work in progress, but you can see the direction I want to take it. The basic plan is for the hollow to be the focal point. The lower branches will define a negative space between the foliage, trunk and soil level - the branchlet halfway along the lower left branch is the line I expect the bottom of the foliage to eventually take. The top of the tree will obviously become much wider, almost broom-like, and perhaps a little lower.

Cork bark Chinese Elm in progress: Design thoughts? 149av46