Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Trident Maple Input Needed.

+2
bonsaisr
magsterone
6 posters

Go down

Trident Maple Input Needed. Empty Trident Maple Input Needed.

Post  magsterone Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:15 am

Hi Everyone,

Just looking for design ideas as I have lost design perspective on this tree. Any input is welcomed. Thanks.

Joe K. in Mobile, AL

Trident Maple Input Needed. Img_2613

magsterone

Back to top Go down

Trident Maple Input Needed. Empty Trident Maple Design

Post  bonsaisr Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:22 pm

I am no expert but I will give it a try.
Most of the trunk has no taper. You might want to do a trunk chop & put it in the ground. The upper part is nicely branched and tapered, so an air layer might be in order.
I'm concerned about that lump in the middle. A different view might be better. My experience is that large pruning cuts in tridents heal very slowly, but you are much farther south.
I don't see any nebari.
If you are going to keep the whole tree together, you need branches on the lower trunk. You can shorten the upper branches to encourage back budding or make some thread grafts in the spring. Maples thread graft very easily.
That first branch on the right has to go. It is too thick and is coming out of an inside curve.
Iris

Last edited by bonsaisr on Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:24 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Additional information)
bonsaisr
bonsaisr

Back to top Go down

Trident Maple Input Needed. Empty Re: Trident Maple Input Needed.

Post  D-Ho Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:32 pm

I would layer 1/3 the way up the trunk from root level to first branch. That seems like it would help the taper a little if you were to keep the branches similar. When I layered my trident maple I ground-layered it mounding soil around the layering site. A large callus bulge occurred at the cut, which I'm hoping will lead to good radial root spread.