Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spruce seasonal care?

4 posters

Go down

Spruce seasonal care? Empty Spruce seasonal care?

Post  D-Ho Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:28 pm

I have not found a very good source for seasonal spruce care, more specifically colorodo blue spruce care. When is the best season, not necessarily month, for heavy/light pruning, budding, pinching, repotting, and special fertilizing. Would it be similar to say a JBP or would it be quite different?

I already know I do not have the perfect climate for these but I'm going to experiment.

D-Ho

Back to top Go down

Spruce seasonal care? Empty Re: Spruce seasonal care?

Post  drgonzo Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:45 pm

I'm the first to tell you I'm no conifer expert, but I do keep one spruce that has done very well for me.
I could tell you about all the techniques required to work with spruce that I have found work well but I fear you will have enough difficulty with keeping the plant healthy in Texas before Bonsai techniques can be applied. Find Rkatzin on the forum; thats your blue spruce guy.

-Jay
drgonzo
drgonzo

Back to top Go down

Post  D-Ho Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:50 pm

Thank you for your response.

So the story is I'm originally from Binghamton NY and I visted there last Christmas. I decided to bring something back down to my current home in Texas that was a pine or something northern to see if I could get it to work. It was a Colorado Blue Spruce and I repotted it in my(Texas) spring(usually way earlier than NY spring) right before the buds started to needle out. I put it in a DIY wood box with 100% turface. I noticed when I was repotting that the spruce had the thickest mychorrizae colony I'd ever seen!