New to the art of bonsai!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New to the art of bonsai!

Post  Mowgonie on Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:29 am

hi IBC members =) Greetings from Sweden =) My name is Vladimir and as the title say im new to this. Ive had a "bonsai" when I was young but my mom forgot to water it so it dies, along with my interest of bonsai. But a few weeks ago i was visiting "plantagen" which is a.... lets just say it's IKEA for plants. And there I saw a tree that made me want to persue my passion for plants. So here I am with a "malsai" and i feel kind of overwhelmed with all the info i got. I have spent a lot (!) of hours learning about bonsai, about this art.

At the moment i have a Ehretia buxifolia that I bought from IKEA... (i know it isnt the best place to buy "bonsai" but we all have to begin from somewere).Atm im waiting for some seeds from Japanese Judas-tree (Cercidiphyllum japonicum), Redwood tree (Sequoiadendron giganteum), Creeping fig (Ficus pumila), Japanese Wisteria (Wisteria floribunda), "Tree in a hurry" Virgilia divaricata which i hope could give me some beautiful trees... in a cople of years =)

I just got a little doughter that made me look at life a little bit different therefore my newlygrown passion for bonsai. I would like to grow some bonsai from scratch in hope that my doughter will appreciate my work and would want to take care of them after i pass away =) Even though that would take a couple of years i couldnt think of a better way to leave this world then to give her a living being that reminds her of me =)

Anyways, i have been reading and reading on the web about bonsai and there is alot of info to digest. I contacted the swedish bonsai assosiation but since sweden is a little country, the club only has 2 gatherings every year. But that doesnt help me a whole lot because i have so many questions that i need answered as soon as possible.