Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Chinese Juniper

5 posters

Go down

Chinese Juniper Empty Chinese Juniper

Post  John Buttino Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:12 am

Hi all
I've been growing bonsai for about 24 years (with a few breaks due to career and place to live and such). I want to share a few and hope to make a few friends.
These are a pair of Chinese Junipers I collected from a friends' yard about 20 years ago. They were huge... almost 5 ft tall at the time.
I pruned them back enough to ensure survival and have worked throughout the years trimming them back to their current height and style. Most of the current branches were tiny shoots when they first were let to grow out.
I'm currently working on "finishing" them, they've been ready for some time now for that but work always keeps me from it!
I hope you like' em and I look forward to your feedback!
Chinese Juniper Bunjin12
Chinese Juniper Chines10
John Buttino
John Buttino

Back to top Go down

Chinese Juniper Empty Re: Chinese Juniper

Post  daudelus Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:09 pm

I like the first one quite a bit, especially the root flare, which I find really difficult to attain on these prostrate junipers. The things that I find my eye drawn to are the first branch on the right, which seems out of place, but this could also be due to the foliage being at the end only. I like your patience with these trees! It shows...
daudelus
daudelus

Back to top Go down

Post  Orion Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:13 pm

I think what you've done with them is really nice. And yes, the patience is certainly paying off. I've never been a real fan of the literati style, yet the way they have progressed accentuates a more "natural" feel to them.

Keep up the great work and keep us posted on the progress.
Orion
Orion

Back to top Go down

Post  John Buttino Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:49 pm