Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tools ....

+5
John Quinn
tombeur
fiona
landerloos
Wolftrees
9 posters

Go down

Tools .... Empty Tools ....

Post  Wolftrees Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:50 pm

As a newbie I am resisting the urge to go out and buy every tool in the book. In fact I don't think I'm going to bother at all.

As it happens my other hobby is modelling and model engineering and I have a whole raft of things that will cut and snip and nip so is there any practical reason why I can't use one of those instead?

Traditional reasons will be ignored Twisted Evil
Wolftrees
Wolftrees

Back to top Go down

Tools .... Empty Re: Tools ....

Post  landerloos Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:59 pm

My thought, not necesary in the starting period.
Afterwards you might buy them any way, some of the tools are great to work with and make clean and nice cuts.

Just bought me a new stainless steel jin plier Wink

Peter
landerloos
landerloos

Back to top Go down

Post  fiona Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:01 pm

I quite often borrow Himindoors' model aircraft tools so I'm assuming there'll be similarlities. I do stop short of using his lathe though. Very Happy

I would recommend you get yourself a decent pair of bonsai scissors though. You might also want to consider a decent set of branch cutters too. Remember that when you're cutting a branch a good clean cut is needed. It's a bit of a simplification but as a general rule anything ragged and you run the risk of diseases getting in. That should do you while you master the basics, then you can see if there's anything else you need.
fiona
fiona

Back to top Go down

Post  tombeur Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:37 am

I wouldn't want to do without my knobcutter.

Cheers,

Steve

tombeur

Back to top Go down

Post  John Quinn Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:51 am

A decent concave cutter, a good pair of scissors, and eventually a wire cutter will be necessary.
John Quinn
John Quinn