Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Black leaves on a evergreen

2 posters

Go down

Black leaves on a evergreen  Empty Black leaves on a evergreen

Post  Kiyalynn Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:24 pm

Ok, so I have this little bonsai I bought from wal-mart (yeah not the best place to get one but it was cheap and I'm just learning), I belive it is a juniper. I had always been worried about the pot it was in because it didn't seam to have any way to drain. Today I was looking at the little tree and noticed that some of the leaves had turned almost black. Fearing root rot, I repoted the little plant, and relized that the soil was not as wet as I had feared. Now I'm wondering if I diagnosed the tree properly. The leaves do not seam to indicate that the tree was tunderwatered either, they did not urn brown or seam dry. The roots on the surface of the soil also looked dark almost black aswell , ones deeper in the pot were a lighter red-brown.
Anyway I'm afraid I don't have a digital camera to take a picture of the tree.

On another topic, I've been looking for correct soil to use for bonsai, as I don't have a bonsai supply store I've been trying to find something that would work. At the gardening center I chose 'Miracle-Gro® Cactus, Palm and Citrus Soil' for the ingrediants (sphagnum peat moss, sand, and more) and the 'well draining' advertisement, and that is what I potted this little tree into (I have no idea what it was in). Since buying that I have wondered about buying a 'tree and shrub' mix for outside tree's from Lowes wonding if that would work better for bonsai. Any tips on that?
Kiyalynn
Kiyalynn

Back to top Go down

Black leaves on a evergreen  Empty Black Leaves

Post  bonsaisr Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:15 pm

I killed my first Juniper 20 years ago. Welcome to the club. Laughing
Where are you keeping it? It should have been outside in full sun.