Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Old Seiju elm - What to do with it

+10
Sam Ogranaja
Brett Simon
Andre Beaurain
dadshouse
coh
moyogijohn
bonsaitree
Jesse
Russell Coker
Randy_Davis
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Old Seiju elm - What to do with it Empty Old Seiju elm - What to do with it

Post  Randy_Davis Tue May 31, 2011 3:34 pm

Hi gang,

I have had this old seiju elm as my stock tree for cuttings that has been in a container for somewhere close to 40 years now. Since I'm no longer propagating plant material I think it's time to do something with it. I did do some air layering of it higher on the tree this morning just to get the final batch of trees off of it. Once those are rooted I'll want to cut it down and start making something out of it. I'm not sure of a design or final size for it and thought I'd put a pic or two of it up to get some outside input. The tree is 3.5" diameter at the base so something in the range of 18-20" I guess would be arout right.

any thought's ?

Randy
Old Seiju elm - What to do with it U_p_se10
Old Seiju elm - What to do with it U_p_se11
Randy_Davis
Randy_Davis

Back to top Go down

Old Seiju elm - What to do with it Empty Re: Old Seiju elm - What to do with it

Post  Russell Coker Tue May 31, 2011 4:19 pm

Nice one Randy!

Looks to me like the trunk and main branches have a gentle, natural movement - then it's all shot to hell by lack of taper in those branches. I think you wave a wonderful start on a broom-ish, realistic looking elm. I'd get rid of at least 3/4 of that top and take it back to a basic framework, then grow it back out from there.

Great material!

R
Russell Coker
Russell Coker

Back to top Go down

Post  Randy_Davis Tue May 31, 2011 5:20 pm

Russell,