Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What to look for...

5 posters

Go down

What to look for... Empty What to look for...

Post  srqstyle Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:06 am

I am very new to the art of Bonsai, and I am finding out that the more I read about it, the more obsessed I am becoming! I have the 2 Fukien's as my first trees, and I recently planted 16 Chinese elm seeds. Hopefully a few will be viable as future bonsai's. But it will be a few more weeks until I have anything else to post about them. So I am getting experience with bonsai started from seed, but I would like to try my hand at starting bonsai from nursery stock or wild specimens. Any suggestions for a good beginners choice of plant? I like the look of trees like Fukiens, Elm's, Maples, ficus, etc. I also like pines and other types of coniferous evergreens, but the length of time it takes for a black pine or juniper to acquire the weathered "story-telling" appearance of a gorgeous old bonsai might be too much for me this early in my Bonsai experience. I would love to hear any suggestions of a tree that matures nicely at a younger age and will need regular attention to detail (this will help me hone my skills Smile) Pictures of other users specimens would be nice to see as well. Thanks for your input!!!
srqstyle
srqstyle

Back to top Go down

What to look for... Empty Re: What to look for...

Post  luc tran Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:16 am

Hello there and welcome to the art. I think the plant choices that you have picked out are excellent choices. Take good care of them and learn.

Luc

luc tran

Back to top Go down

Post  srqstyle Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:17 am

Thanks Luc!!! Smile
srqstyle
srqstyle

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:06 am

Hi.