New potter

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New potter

Post  crazybonsaiguy on Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:10 pm

I am just getting started with bonsai pottery (I've had four "batches" come out of the kiln) and wanted to share what I've done so far. I am an artist (oil painter) by training, but fell in love with bonsai about seven years ago now, and have just taken up ceramics over the past year. I rarely have any time for it, plus I'm slow at it- thus only four batches. I would appreciate any comments or criticism any of you are willing to share with me.

Thanks,

Steve

This is my first porcelain one. I carved it from a block. It has some flaws in the glaze, so I am showing you the good side.

[/ url]
A small shohin pot.

[url=https://servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=12&u=16338410]

Second porcelain pot- featuring my attempt at a foo dog.

Going into the kiln, I assumed this one would come out a total piece of junk, but the fire did a trick and I have actually grown fond of it.

Trying out some decorative rivets.

Couldn't get the camera to capture this one. It is a dragon in the water. I put the clear celadon glaze on too thick and it caused a kind of frosty version of the under painting.

Thanks for taking a look!

Last edited by crazybonsaiguy on Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:32 pm; edited 7 times in total

crazybonsaiguy

Back to top Go down

Re: New potter

Post  Russell Coker on Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:51 pm

I think they're really nice, especially the first and last. That first pot, how bad is the bad side? I want it - er, um, I mean how big is it?

Russell

Russell Coker

Back to top Go down

Post  ogie on Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:58 pm

You got great skill there,keep them coming,they are all great

Alex

ogie

Back to top Go down

Post  crazybonsaiguy on Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:07 pm